Author, Books, Writing

Introducing #Author Fiona Glass – @F_Glass_Author

Good morning, bloggers!

I am so happy to see you on this beautiful day! (Even if it’s an unfortunate day outside, you can still greet the day with the most positive attitude! 😉  )

Today, I have a lovely guest for you to meet, Fiona Glass. If you enjoy spooky reads and things of the supernatural world, then you’re going to enjoy what she has to share…


 

If Heyer did horror…?

You could say Georgette Heyer is one of my guilty pleasures. These days she’s not rated as highly as many other writers of her generation, either for her Regency romances or her crime novels. Agatha Christie and Dorothy L Sayers are far more likely to be raved over; Heyer seems to have rather fallen through the cracks.

But I’ve always loved her books, and have read dozens over the years. And whilst I lapped up both the romances (Frederica, These Old Shades) and the more serious crime like Penhallow, my absolute favourites are actually some of her more lighthearted books, like Why Shoot a Butler, Death in the Stocks, and in particular, Footsteps in the Dark.

All of these are full of breathless action, sarcastic characters, flippant humour, numerous interwoven plot threads, and sheer fun. Although they still have a strong crime element, they mostly lack the psychological themes of her darker crime books. And Footsteps in the Dark, in particular, is a riot, with a sinister baddie called The Monk, lots of dashing around in secret passages, and even – you guessed it! – spooky footsteps in the dark.

In Heyer’s case the book veers away from actual supernatural to a more logical outcome. But when I started writing Got Ghosts? a couple of years ago, I wanted to capture that same zany, breathless sense of madcap action and fun. In my book there really are ghosts, lots of them in fact, who inhabit an ancient English manor house called Greystones Hall, and act as unofficial guardians to its young artist owner Emily. But when a TV company come to film those ghosts, their resident medium stirs up something she shouldn’t, and chaos ensues. It’s not so much lights – camera – action, as lights – camera – inaction, as everyone bumps into something scary and all of them try to run away in different directions at once!

Even though my plot involves the sort of Gothic horror Heyer herself never went in for, I’m hoping I managed to bring some of her wonderful quirky atmosphere to my ‘haunted house’ story. You could say it’s my tribute to her, for giving me so many happy hours reading her books over the years.

If you’ve never read Footsteps in the Dark I can thoroughly recommend it, as long as you park your disbelief at the door. And if you’d like more information on Got Ghosts? then please head to my website where I have a whole page with the full blurb, an excerpt, links to various guest (ghost?) blog posts, and of course, that all-important information on where you can buy a copy!

And a big thank you to Marlena for giving me the opportunity to waffle on about myself, and making me feel so welcome.

got ghosts front

*  *  *

Fiona_teaFiona lives within stone-throwing distance (never a good idea in Glass houses…) of England’s largest lake. When she isn’t being a pane in the glass, she writes dark contemporary and paranormal fiction. This is mostly in the shape of short stories, but she’s also had two paranormal romance novels and two novellas published so far. Her latest book, Got Ghosts?, a ghostly romp involving a TV production crew in a haunted English manor house, has just been published by Fox Spirit Books. You can find Fiona lurking on the internet at her website or Twitter. Please come and say hello!

Website

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram


Thank you so much for joining us today. Please help me in supporting today’s featured guest with likes, shares and comments. And don’t forget to check out her links and her book!

Until next time……………………… Love & Blessings!!!

6 thoughts on “Introducing #Author Fiona Glass – @F_Glass_Author”

  1. I have never read Heyer but will add her to my list to read! Got Ghosts sounds like a fun read will be adding to my way too long list to read 🙂 Fun post!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.